Route Planning

Because of the way that dates worked out, it looks like we’ll be taking a more northerly route, from SF to Washington DC.  This is tentatively what the route will look like:

Major cities that we’ll hit:

  • Start: San Francisco, CA
  • Sacramento, CA
  • Reno, NV
  • Salt Lake City, UT
  • Cheyenne, WY
  • Omaha, NE
  • Des Moines, IA
  • Chicago, IL
  • Toledo, OH
  • Pittsburgh, PA
  • Hagerstown, MD
  • End: Washington, DC

Know anyone in those cities with a high power wall connector, or who wants to see the car?  Let them know to drop us a line!

8 thoughts on “Route Planning

  1. Wow, ambitious plan. Please comment on finding power plugs as you go. Do you have a plan at each location? Do you use PlugShare or something? I’m in McLean, by the time you get here you are home but I do have a Roadster HPC (would nee converter). Very best of luck.

    • Hi Biff,

      Great question! Realizing that we will need to remain flexible on the distance between charges depending upon terrain, speed, etc, I have sketched out a rough plan for charging. To find the locations I’ve used a combination of websites / apps including Plugshare, Chargepoint, and Recargo, plus “RV Park” searches on google maps. So far, I really like Recargo. There seems to be a decent amount of locations added, comments, photos, and notes about what you can expect to find upon arrival. But stay tuned as we make the journey and learn more from firsthand experience!

  2. I’m the only Roadster owner along I-80 UT to NE that I know of. I’m 40 mi directly south of I-80 in so central WY. Have a 7.2kw charger w j1772>CAN>Roadster. You are welcome to use.

    If you take I-70 thru CO you will have more choices: 7.2kw at CostCo store in Gypsum, CO and 70A Tesla charger at Mountain Haus Hotel, Vail CO. Then of course the Tesla Store, Park Meadows Mall, Lone Tree, CO with 70A charger.

    Between I-80 and I-70 is the New Belgium Brewery at Ft Collins, CO with a 6kw (208v@30A) bunch of Schneider Chargers, (Please) go there to see if ModelS can take a charge from the Schneiders- my Roadster can’t!

    No doubt you are depending on RV-Parks along your route. There are plenty but I have no real info.

    Good luck on the trip.
    Bill in Encampment, WY

Leave a Reply

